Day 09: Setting up Nodejs, Hardhat & Etherjs, Basics of Javascript

Day 09: Setting up Nodejs, Hardhat & Etherjs, Basics of Javascript

·

2 min read

Hey all, hope you are doing well...

I am quite satisfied with the progress I am making this week, completing an hour of lecture each day, and managing a hectic work schedule & some uncertainties. Well I actually am learning three techs simultaneously, it's insane, isn't it? I should be learning one or two at max at a time but destiny....there's nothing we can do about it. When you decide to do something, all the problems in the world start rising & getting in front of you... My main focus should be on learning Blockchain, and I'll try hard to keep it that way cause that's all in my hands. And my target would be to complete the course as soon as possible, doesn't matter if I spend all my weekend binge-watching the lectures...

Anyways, my #day09 was quite hectic, but I did complete my daily targets & that's the only thing that makes me happy. There aren't many learnings I could share as most of the lecture went into setting up the Nodejs environment, npm, yarn & solidity extensions, and basics of javascript, which I am already aware of as I've worked on Nodejs before. The setup is complete now & will have more learnings from tomorrow onwards.

Learnings:

Ganache & Networks

Ganache is similar to a virtual machine in remix which we used to deploy the contracts on for testing purposes.

Installation:

  1. Download the Linux version of Ganache from https://trufflesuite.com/ganache/

  2. Open the terminal & run the below command from the folder in which the image lies.

    sudo chmod +x ganache-2.7.1-linux-x86_64.AppImage

  3. Double-click the.AppImage & follow the instructions for installation.

Outro

Well, I've not mentioned much on purpose as setting up the environment is kinda of trial & error thing, & won't be relevant after a while, better follow the official docs or the things over the internet that work for you.

Wrapping up my Day-09 of #100DaysOfCode, will catch up again tomorrow, till then, it's a farewell.